Suge Knight Stopped by Police

I’m sure we all know who Suge Knight is.  He’s the guy that brought us Tupac, Snoop Dogg, Death Row Records, you know, back when rap was GOOD.

Well, the fine folks at the Los Angeles Police Department (LAPD) saw fit to harass Mr. Knight because he matched the description of a suspect in an assault.  In other words, the LAPD literally stopped Suge knight because he’s a Black man.

I find it ironic that Suge Knight made his bones through being a vehicle for gangsta rap and so much of gangsta rap started as a protest against the police and their systematic harassment of Blacks. NWA’s “Fuck tha Police” comes to mind as does Tupac saying “Fuck the Marin County Sheriff’s Department” in his song “Still Ballin’ “.

I am sick and tired of hearing that racism is over in America.  It’s not, and the fact that Suge Knight was pulled over is proof.  I hesitate to call Suge Knight “innocent” given his checkered past, but, in this case, his only crime was being the wrong color.  Suge Knight is considering suing the City of Los Angeles and I hope he chooses to do so on general principle alone.  At the very least, I hope he exercises his right to file a complaint against the officers who harassed him.

I’m not interested in hearing what a hard job being a cop is, or what horrible things they have to do and see, blah blah blah. Let me get the violin out.  Cops know what they are getting into.  In my opinion, anyone who is a police officer is either too stupid to get a real job, or a closet psychopath that gets off on carrying a gun around.  Further, I don’t want to hear about how they were “following standard police procedure” or whatever the police catchphrase is in times like this.  Didn’t the Nazis on trial at Nuremberg claim that they were “just following orders” also?

Moreover, as a White person, I’ll never know firsthand what Black people have to deal with on a daily basis.  I do know that several of my Black friends have gone through this, however.  I also have several Black in-laws on my wife’s side who have all mentioned dealing with this at one time or another.  I find it repugnant that, in 2013, my loved ones still have to put up with being pulled over based on no other factor than skin color.

So, to the members of “LA’s Finest” who pulled over Mr. Knight, congratulations on being so intellectually deficient that you couldn’t tell the difference between a suspect in an assault case and a well-known media mogul.  Next time, before applying your oppressive tactics,  you might want to look at some more qualifiers than simply skin color.

Leave a Reply

