On Norah Jones. . .Not Literally

One of my most loyal readers asked me to comment on Norah Jones.  I have to admit, if she hadn’t I never would have had occasion to hear her music.

I will be the first to admit that Jazz is not my scene.  Indeed, I think that the Jazz of Coltrane, Miles Davis, and Ella Fitzgerald is long gone.  What not passes for Jazz is sort of a pretentious throwback to better times.

Listening to Norah Jones, she really was an echo of an era I thought was over.  Is she up to Ella Fitzgerald status?  No, but then again, few are.  What I like most about Norah Jones’s music is that it is her doing it.  I can sense her passion in all of her work and her essence comes through.  It is not a product to be sold, it is an expression of emotion which is what real Jazz started out as. Kenny G, one of my personal favorites, is like this as well, although he’s purely instrumental whereas Norah does it with the voice.

Sadly, I don’t think that Norah Jones will earn a spot on my iPod just because her music is just not my taste. It is nothing personal, I acknowledge that she has talent, but, her stuff is not for me.  I feel about her the way I feel about soccer.  I have seen it, I acknowledge that others may like it, I even accept that it has a place in the world-I just can’t get into it.

I will however endorse Norah Jones.  If you are a fan of mellow sounds, strong female vocals, and very slow easy listening music, then give Norah Jones a listen.  She’s too mellow for this guy, though.

One response to “On Norah Jones. . .Not Literally

  • Elizabeth

    Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU! Always a delight to read your opinions and rants.
    If there’s ever a day you’re in a “too mellow” mood, “Wake Me Up” is a lovely song.

Leave a Reply

