2013 VMA Post-Mortem

Everyone is talking about Miley Cyrus at the 2013 VMA show and how she embarrassed herself. I personally don’t care. She’s trying to get away from the cutesy Hannah Montana image. I get it. To quote Chris Rock, “I don’t approve, but I understand.”

The real story for me was Justin Timberlake and how amazing his voice sounded. Emphasis on HIS voice. There was no artificial crap there. No electronic help. The N’Sync performance was great as well and it is probably setting the groundwork for a reunion tour either this year or the next year. Come on. I should know how it works by now. The Backstreet Boys and 98 Degrees did a reunion tour, now it’s N’Sync’s turn.  (By the way, since BSB and 98 degrees toured with Boyz II Men, is it too much to hope that N’Sync would tour with Blackstreet? I’ve been hoping for another Blackstreet tour for a while.)

I really was not expecting much from the VMAs as much as I have watched them in the past and been underwhelmed and disgusted by what I have seen. However, last night, watching Justin Timberlake belt out his songs, live and without any electronic advantage was a special treat. I couldn’t have been considered a Justin Timberlake fan in the past, I may have even criticized him (I could look back but I don’t feel like sifting through my archives) but, as of last night, color me a Justin Timberlake fan.

The rest of the VMA performances you ask?  Well, I found them essentially unremarkable.  Par for the course given the state of music today.

Leave a Reply

