Eartha Kitt-More than Just a Pretty Face/Voice

Probably one of the most underrated female entertainers of all time, Eartha Kitt was truly one of a kind. I still get tingling, intoxicating shivers down my spine when I think of her doing that “RRRRRRrrrRRRaaaaWWWWrrrrRR” she used to do in the old Batman. And when I think of her doing “Someone to Watch Over Me” I just melt away. I could listen to her all day long. Why, if she was still with us, I think she could have read an instruction manual on how to assemble a table from Ikea and made it sound sexy.

However, Eartha Kitt was a staunch supporter of Gay Rights. This has been a hot-button issue in America and I think that Eartha Kitt deserves credit for supporting Gay Marriage before it was popular and hip to do so.

Given this, her intoxicating personality, hypnotic voice, and overall lovely energy make her an icon. The fact that she was a social innovator just adds to her legend.

Leave a Reply

