Lana Del Rey-“Summertime Sadness”-2012

When I heard this song I was certainly put in a somber mood given the haunting and emotional lyrics. This is an enjoyable piece albeit not exactly a “feel good” song. (I’ll ignore the fact that the album Lana Del Rey released this song on was called “Born to Die” which is already the title of a Sevendust song.)

I applaud the originality of this song. I have never heard a song that mixed “sadness” with “summertime”. Certainly, those to motifs are quite popular in music, but, to reiterate, I’ve never heard them mixed. Summertime Sadness is certainly a welcome antidote to the poison that Katy Perry inflicted upon us with that awful “California Girls” song.

Leave a Reply

