Militia, We Hardly Knew Ye

In 1997 I heard Militia for the first time with their release of the song “Burn.” Surprisingly, given the limited resources in the 90s, that was about all I heard from them given the coast wars going on, Wu-Tang Forever’s release, the death of grunge, the SKA emergence. I had a lot on my musical plate.

Fast forward to about a month ago when I thought of the song once again and then I decided to search for it on iTunes. It was not there. A month later, I was delighted to see that it had been added. However, there is not much out there about Militia even still. I’ve been haviyng difficulty finding much about them and there is no Wikipedia entry that I have found. Further, they have an outdated bio on reverbnation but aside from that, Militia has almost faded into obscurity.

It really is a shame because they were really a great group. I was absolutely delighted to find the piece of theirs that I loved so much on iTunes. I only wish that Militia could enjoy a resurgence.

Given the downward spiral of music today, I won’t hold my breath.

Leave a Reply

