Musical Guilty Pleasures

Per the request of my most loyal reader and most diligent commenter, I have compiled here for you a list of musical guilty pleasures. Before I do that, of course, I need to subject you to more of my banal, bombastic, blather by telling you that musical guilty pleasures are really defined by who one is. For example, if a teenage girl tells you that she likes One Direction, you wouldn’t bat an eyelash. However, I am a six foot, 280 pound bear of a man with a shaved head and a goatee. If I told you I like One Direction, you’d be surprised since I look like I just walked off the set of “Sons of Anarchy.” Oh, and by the way, I DO like One Direction. HA! Read on. Commence musical guilty pleasures:

“Candy”-Mandy Moore-2000-
This sounds like a total cop-out but I like the beat in this song. It is really a well thought out bass line with it as well which is surprising for a pop song. Oh and I pretend Many Moore is singing to just me when I listen to it. Shut up! I’m bearing my soul here dammit!

“Life is What you Make It”-Mishelle Bradford-Jones-2001
This is really a feminine sounding song but I cannot stop myself from enjoying this as the perfect salve for the slashing sting of a bad day or when I’m feeling vulnerable and in the mood to take in a romantic comedy.

“What Makes you Beautiful”-One Direction-2011
See Above

“Starships”-Nicki Minaj-2012
To be honest, I wouldn’t have given this song the time of day if I didn’t have a massive crush on Nicki Minaj. I love her costumes, I love her attitude, and, most of all I love her caboose. Read “The Naked Ape” and you’ll understand.

“Blow”-Kesha-2010
I should be appalled by Kesha’s very existence but, for some reason, I cannot bring myself to despise her even though I should. Something about the voice that just draws me in.

“Better Off Alone”-Alice DeeJay-1999
This song has no substance. It was probably made by pressing buttons and speaking into a big box. It’s techno! The lowest form of musical life! This requires almost no musical talent!! Why the hell did I download this?! Gah! I don’t know either but I just like it. It’s guilty pleasures, people! Don’t make me dissect it too much!

Well, that does it for now. As you know, my musical tastes are quite refined (I think I can almost hear you rolling your eyes) so I cannot think of anything else that would meet the criteria for a guilty pleasure. Should I stumble across another one, you’ll be the first to know. . .if I feel like posting that is.

3 responses to “Musical Guilty Pleasures

  • Elizabeth

    Yay! You had me in giggles with this post! Thanks for indulging the sadist in me…

    I have some songs in my playlist that when anyone is nearby while I have my earphones in, I immediately lower the volume and enjoy them quietly.

    Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Call Me Maybe” – I don’t know if this would be classified as a guilty pleasure, but at my age, it feels a little weird cranking it up. It’s so….bubblegummy-pop, right alongside some Katy Perry, Britney Spears, Taylor Swift and One Direction.
    Listening to them, part of me feels like I’m betraying Brandy, Toni Braxton, Cyndi Lauper, Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Mariah Carey, and all those other powerful voices that ruled the airwaves way back when.

    Aqua’s “Barbie Girl” – In my defense, I was a tween when this song came out. It’s a nostalgic track, and although I didn’t play much with dolls, it was a fun track to dance and sang along to heaps of times. “Doctor Jones” and “My Oh My” were big hits, too.

  • bishopandwarlord

    I understand what you mean about “Barbie Girl” because I enjoy “The Gummy Bear Song” which is the same type of song. It’s not a guilty pleasure for me because it’s so nonsensical that one can enjoy the irony of it.

  • Wifey

    LOVE Mandy Moore 🙂 I have to add some *NSYNC Songs to my list!

Leave a Reply

