When I was 22, it was a Very Good Year. . .

Paraphrasing The Chairman of the Board himself is always a great way to start a post, no? Disagree? Oh well. Go get your own blog then.

Listening to my iPod today while diligently achievement hoarding on Xbox Live, I realized that the few songs that played in succession were all from 2006. I began to muse at that coincidence since my iPod was set to shuffle and then it occurred to me: 2006 was a really wonderful year for music. Here are some of my favorites and some of my non-favorites that are ones that nonetheless stick out in my mind.

Bad Day-Daniel Powter
This may have faded into obscurity had it not been for the NFL Fantasy Football League ads.

You’re Beautiful-James Blunt
I hated this song when I first heard it. James Blunt just sounded like a creepy pervert that I could just picture singing that song whilst staring at a woman duct taped to a chair in a dungeon not unlike what would appear in one of the “Saw” movies. The song grew on me after a while then I forgot about it by 2007. Given James Blunt’s (lack of) activity, I see I wasn’t alone.

Hips Don’t Lie-Never liked this song but I mentioned it because Shakira can ask me to do her dishes or pick up her dry cleaning any day. I used to love her until I discovered Sofia Vergara. Still, her unique voice allows her to enjoy a special place in my heart.

Crazy-Gnarls Barkley
What happened to Gnarls Barkley? Nevermind. I don’t care. Neither does the record industry evidently.

Ridin’-Chamillionaire
Great song. Another one hit wonder.

Sexy Back-Justin Timberlake
This is the song that really helped him break out as a solo artist if you ask me.

Be Without You-Mary J. Blige
The first time I heard this song, I was drinking a Cinnamon Dolce Latte for the first time and also looking at my then girlfriend (now wife) deciding I was going to propose to her. Yeah. This song is pretty important to me.

SOS-Rihanna
Remember when Rihanna was good? Listen to this song and it will refresh your memory

I’m N Luv (wit a stripper)
MIKE JOOOOOOONES! What happened to that guy? This is a great song with a great beat. I guess that’s par for the course with T-Pain, though.

Laffy Taffy-D4L
Probably one of the most creative songs with the most intelligent use of metaphor that I have heard. I would love to hear more from D4L. They’re part of G-Unit Records now so hopefully I’ll get my wish.

Bossy-Kelis f. Too $hort
I should hate Kelis for what she did to Nas but, whatever. Interesting (and sad) that this song actually did better than the album Too $hort released this same year.

Life is a Highway-Rascal Flatts
I hate covers. I hate Tom Petty. I hate country. That’s why it is so astonishing that I like this song. Then again, Rascal Flatts has a great sound and I like most of their stuff oddly enough.

Soul Survivor-Young Jeezy f. Akon
This is the song that sparked a great run for Akon for about the next two years. I still wish I could find the explicit version of this though!

I wish Sean Paul and Fergie had STAYED in 2006 too.

One response to “When I was 22, it was a Very Good Year. . .

  • Elizabeth

    Thumbs up to “You’re Beautiful”, “SexyBack” and “Hips Don’t Lie”!
    I remember when Shakira’s “Whenever Wherever” came out, and girls at my school would try to imitate that waist movement that’s her signature. Some succeeded, most of us were just mega FAILS. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

