Ska: What were we Thinking?

I caught the performance by Of Monsters and Men on Graham Norton’s show the other day. I wish I hadn’t. Up until they came on stage, that particular episode was pretty good. When Of Monsters and Men started performing, the show became like a perfect salad with an unwanted cockroach in it.

I began thinking how much I despised the way Of Monsters and Men sounds. I loathe most folk bands because I feel that it is a genre that is just over and that folk music is a cheap imitation of reggae. Moreover, what I hated most was the brass section which was, in my opinion, out of place. It was like listening to a Rascal Flatts song that included a verse by Flo Rida or Pitbull.

On the subject of brass and rock, I remembered the Ska fad of the late 90s. Sure there were some decent Ska bands like The Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Goldfinger. There were some garbage Ska bands like Pain and Less than Jake. (Pain might be in addition to being the worst Ska band I have ever heard, Pain might be the worst band I have ever heard PERIOD.) However, I tried listening to some ‘Bosstones the other day and I just could not do it. I could not believe that I once found that enjoyable. Maybe I have changed, maybe the scene has changed, but I actually purged my music collection of any and all Ska in digital and analog form.

Needless to say, Ska and my enthusiasm for the same, will remain in the past with the other things I have outgrown and now look back on with a bit of shame at how stupid it was and disbelief that I was enthusiastic about it.

Leave a Reply

