Jesus Jones-“Right Here, Right Now”-1991

I seem to remember hearing this song all throughout elementary school as I was in elementary school during the ’90s. It has all of the elements you’d expect from a ’90s hard rock offering. Splashy synth, catchy lyrics, and one hell of a guitar solo.

However, it was not until listening to it recently that I truly appreciated the meaning of this piece. The song is talking about how interesting the times were when that song was created. End of the cold war, technological breakthroughs, etc. As a child, I could not exactly articulate it, but I knew instinctively that I was experiencing history. In hindsight, I reflect on those times and feel fortunate to have lived then.

While many people poke fun at Jesus Jones, I feel that their criticism is unjustified. Furthermore, if you look at their body of work, I am sure they are laughing all the way to the bank, as the saying goes. They are quite an iconic band with a lot to say. It is refreshing to think back to a time when bands like this were commonplace as opposed to today when lyrics don’t matter and “music” is all about marketing.

Leave a Reply

