Nazareth-“Hair of the Dog”-1975

This is probably one of my favorite 1970s era rock pieces. The aggressive lyrics are easily a precursor to today’s heavy metal.

“Now you’re messin’ with a. . .A SON OF A BITCH!”

The above illustrates the song’s chorus. While that is certainly a raw lyric, the overall tone of the piece is gritty and unapologetic. It begs the question as to whether this band’s work influenced Diamond Head who released “Am I Evil” 7 years after this song was released as it is very similar if you ask me.

If you’ve read this blog with any regularity, you know that I am something of a music purist. Therefore, I must comment on how much I dislike the use of the talk box in the song’s bridge. Then again, it was the 70s and the use of such things was still in its experimental stages so I can forgive it on this occasion.

Leave a Reply

