Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears: A Band You Need to Know

Whilst watching an episode of “Austin City Limits” as I occasionally do, my consumption of public television rewarded me with the discovery of a musical gem. That gem goes by the name of Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears.

I dare say that Black Joe looks like the second coming of Jimi Hendrix. Granted, Black Joe is NOT a Jimi Hendrix imitation. Indeed, Black Joe looks like Jimi Hendrix because he exudes that same, inborn talent which allows him to play the guitar as if it was a body part that he has been living with for his entire life. Further, his voice is really a throwback to the early (and best) days of Rock and Roll. They even have a brass section which, normally I don’t like because the worthless, overrated, Pearl Jam wannabes known as The Dave Matthews Band also have a brass section. However, Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears have renewed my faith in the notion of a viable rock band having a brass section.

On the particular episode of Austin City Limits the Dallas, TX gospel/soul group  The Relatives also came up to do a piece with the band.  For me, that was almost too much to ask for.  I will reserve my attestation of admiration for The Relatives for a later date, though.

I think I had such an emotional reaction to Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears because I didn’t think bands like that existed anymore. If you recall, in a previous post, I posited the theory that Bruno Mars could save music for many of the same reasons for which I have professed admiration of Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears (I’m not going to regurgitate my previous post. I linked it for a reason.  Curious? Read it yourself, lazy.) However, this is something which I firmly believe and, I think that, among the pantheon (and very short list) of musical acts that can save music as we know it, I make no hesitation in considering Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears among them.

I really needed to see Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears. Add The Relatives to the mix and it was an extra special treat.  It made me realize how few and far between REAL musical acts are and embarking on the journey of fanhood for these groups is a sojourn which I will cherish.

One response to “Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears: A Band You Need to Know

Leave a Reply

