Linkin Park-“In the End”-2000

Remember when Linkin Park was good? You know, before people got over the whole two vocalist thing. The above captioned song appeared on their smash-hit debut album Hybrid Theory.  However, if you look at their body of work, their popularity waned with each new album.  I dare say that they have almost faded into obscurity.  Name their latest album and 5 songs from it without using Google or Wikipedia.  Go ahead-I’ll wait. Can’t do it, can you?  Sure Meteora the band’s second album, was cool, but if you ask me, it should have just been called Hybrid Theory part 2.  There was no evolution, no growth, no progression. This has been one of the problems for Linkin Park all along.

The above captioned song, however, is one of my favorites.  Ironically, it was a bit of unfortunate foreshadowing for the band because the chorus of the song serves as a perfect metaphor for Linkin Park.  The song is wonderful, however.  I love the keyboard riffs in the song and the perfect blend of rhythmic poetry and melodious harmony.  How many times have I felt the way the singers in the song feel?  Incalculable.  This is easily my favorite Linkin Park song.  This piece is really more than you can ask for from a song.  Also, it was one of the last new songs to come out that had depth to it instead of being pop garbage.

I know that I implied that Linkin Park wasn’t good anymore but I will grant that this is an unfair assertion.  The fact that Linkin Park does not enjoy the same popularity they once enjoyed is more of a sign of a changing music game instead of Linkin Park not being talented anymore. Are they talented? Of course. But, unfortunately, the majority of music consumers are mindless plebs who want vacuous, empty songs that are catchy instead of deep, emotional songs that actually get your mind working.

One response to “Linkin Park-“In the End”-2000

  • Elizabeth

    “I’ve become so numb I can’t feel you there…” Okay, I’ll stop.

    I’m absolutely clueless when it comes to some artists’ works, knowing only one song that they’ve done.
    Unfortunately for both of us, I can be a mindless pleb who want wants vacuous, empty songs that are catchy instead of deep, emotional songs that actually get my mind working.

    I love Numb – the one WITHOUT Jay-Z’s Encore b.s. – but I’ll look up “In the End” for a taste of that magic.

    I hope they’re working on something epic after such a long silence.

Leave a Reply

