U2-Vertigo-2004

Happy St. Patricks Day.  Is it the last of it’s kind?  It is 2012 after all!!

Whatever.

Anyway, there’s no better way to kick off St. Patrick’s Day 2012 than by celebrating the most famous band ever to come out of Ireland, U2. Their song “Vertigo” is one of my favorite songs of theirs.  Now, I don’t claim to be a u2 superfan, or anything but I have enjoyed their body of work over the years, albeit on the fringe.

Vertigo is one of those “stuck in your head” songs where you hear it and then you’re sentenced to two weeks of walking around going “hello, helloooooo…..hola!”

I love the fact that U2 seems to have a sense of kindness as well based on Bono’s charitable endeavors as well as the political messaging in some of their songs.  This passion shines through in their work. What I like best about u2 is that they are one of the last of a dying breed i.e. bands that make music because they have a message in their souls which must be expressed instead of creating “songs” as a product to be sold.  As music becomes more and more commercial, I begin to have an increasing appreciation for bands like u2.  Given this, I envision myself clinging to u2 and bands like them in the future.

Hats off, U2! Erin go braugh!

One response to “U2-Vertigo-2004

  • Elizabeth

    I’m not a U2 superfan either, but from my understanding, they have quite a fanbase.
    But I love “One”, the duet version they did with Mary J. Blige.

Leave a Reply

