Mariah Carey-“Emotions”-1991

A lot has been said on this blog about real talent.  I have mentioned Patti LaBelle, Whitney Houston, Cher and several others of their ilk. However, I have forgotten to mention Mariah Carey and it is a mistake whose repercussions I fear I will have to live with for the rest of my life.

In the above captioned song, Mariah Carey hits whistle notes that most song birds would envy.  The vocal range that she showed in this song is a spectacle to be cherished, appreciated, anthropomorphized and then taken to bed and kissed in many soft and private places.  Many artists imitate, no one duplicates.  I have blathered on about singers with power vocals, but I have failed to mention the falsettos and the higher-pitched singers who are equally talented.  Think about it: Wolverine and Ironman are two very different human beings, but either of those guys would be good to have on your side.  Following that logic, just because Mariah Carey doesn’t sing the booming, power vocals, her brilliance still shines through.  I dare say that even the singers for whom I have professed my admiration and respect could not even hit the same whistle notes that Mariah Carey hit in the song.  God-given, natural talent is how she did it.

I consume a lot of music and, because I consume so much, my list of favorites is constantly changing.  Given this, I tend to forget about past favorites because I am constantly discovering new favorites.  Songs like “Emotions,” however, always remind me of my favorites and the song always brings me back to Mariah Carey.

One response to “Mariah Carey-“Emotions”-1991

  • Elizabeth

    LOL! You made me laugh: “The vocal range that she showed in this song is a spectacle to be cherished, appreciated, anthropomorphized and then taken to bed and kissed in many soft and private places.”

    But in all seriousness, Mariah’s a vocal powerhouse. I can’t remember what live song I head her sing on YouTube (I think it was “Love takes time”) but damn, she carried that bird-like whistle to insane levels.

    I’m however disappointed by the route she’s taken since the collaborations with hip hop artists. Much as I live “Side Effects” with Young Jeezy, she kept her voice on the DL. I guess she didn’t want to overwhelm us with her super skills. Lately, she’s not shining vocally as well as she did in the ’90s, and the hip hop-ish genre of her music is clouding her fantastic whistles.

    On a whole other note, I’m just going to admit that I’m one of those who’ve tried to imitate Mariah and let me tell you that I fear for the day my vocal chords start to hemorrhage, too.

Leave a Reply

