Video Game Music-Part Deux

As I mentioned in an earlier post (which can be easily accessed by clicking here ) I said that I might be inclined to post an update to the above captioned subject.  Well, you’re in luck-here is that update. Enjoy.

1. Super Mario All-Stars- This was a classic compilation of bestselling Mario games from Nintendo released for the SNES back in the early 90’s. The music in this game was the same as you’d expect for Mario games during the actual gameplay. However, in the selection screens for choosing which games you wanted to play, it really made me feel like I was at some kind of Hollywood award show for Mario games.

2. Maximum Carnage-Another early 90’s SNES release. However, the music on this was really cool. The opening screen featured a really heavy guitar riff that had sounded like the cutting edge hard rock that was popular during this time. I still think of this song and hum it to myself occasionally.

3. Mass Effect-I seem to be picking on early 90’s SNES releases so let me digress from that an tickle your fancy with a more contemporary item. I enjoyed the theme from the first Mass Effect game as well as the in-game ambient background music. It was the perfect kind of science fiction music and it totally captured the way I felt imagining myself in that immersive world. Mass Effect 2 had some decent music but it just didn’t have the “wow” that the first game’s music had.

4. Hitman: Blood Money-I’m a huge fan of the Hitman Franchise. This was the first series that actually incorporated music from a real orchestra by a respected composer. This particular entry into the series featured a young boy singing “Ave Maria” in the game’s main menu. The innocence of the singer of the song juxtaposed with the brutality of the game were a perfect dichotomy, much like the main character of the game who struggles between good and evil his entire life.

5. Ratchet and Clank Series-This franchise has some of the best music I’ve heard in any video game. All the way through the game there is this wonderful, electronic, futuristic sounding music that is perfect for a game set in outer space featuring a talking humanoid creature and a wisecracking little cyborg.

There you go. Five more entries for your own private elucidation or to be haphazardly pasted among all of your cyberspace peers. Given the flurry of attention that my previous post received, I think I will make this a regular offering. If you’re hungering for more, fret not; for there will be more to satiate your voracious appetite.

2 responses to “Video Game Music-Part Deux

Leave a Reply

