Ramones-“You’re Gonna Kill That Girl”-1977

Ask 10 people to name a Ramones song and probably 5 will mention “I Wanna Be Sedated” and the other 5 will probably mention “Blitzkrieg Bop”. I would be the outlier that would name a more obscure offering such as the above captioned piece. For me, this is the song that introduced me to the Ramones as well as the punk genre at large.

Putting aside for a moment that the song’s lyrics are quite violent and I still cringe at them even to this day, I still enjoy the song because it reminds me of my senior year in high school and uncovering the punk genre for the first time, even if I vehemently disagree with what is described in the song. I had always been a metalhead and a grunge fan, but I had never listened to any punk rock. This piece was recommended to me and I was captivated by the band and went to my local record store the same day to purchase a Ramones greatest hits album. For any misfit, rebel, or troubled, angst-ridden, ragamuffin, the Ramones will be your proverbial huckleberry; they definitely were mine.

While the song’s lyrics seem to depict a violent encounter (bearing in mind Joey Ramone’s early life, it makes perfect sense since the song seems to describe a possible domestic violence incident) the song still holds a special place in my heart and belongs in any Ramones anthology. True, I was almost put off by the harshness of the lyrics, but I gave the song a chance and realized that there was a deeper meaning behind it. I later found out that this was true with all Ramones songs.

Leave a Reply

