Yes-“Owner of a Lonely Heart”-1983

Again, I return to the infinitely deep well of songs from the 80’s. Admittedly late to the party on this one as well, it was almost 20 years since the song’s birth that I discovered it. This piece really was a manifestation of Yes reinventing itself; lots of keys, riff-oriented, and heavier electronic influence. What I like most about this one is the sense of encouragement which it offers. I was going through a particularly “romantically-challenged” period in my life at the time and I would often choose this song to bolster my spirits. Perhaps I am strange, but the sound of a hit 1980’s progressive rock song can really boost my spirits. Apparently, my opinion is not unique to me-the song enjoyed a spot at the top of the American Billboard charts for a time.

Leave a Reply

