The Zombies – “She’s Not There” – 1964

I distinctly recall the first time I heard this song.  I was five and it played over the credits of a “British invasion” documentary I taped off of VH-1 back when they still played programmes having to do with music.

From the first chords of the Hohner Pianet intro I was hooked.  By the time the snare drum flam overdubs came in I was mesmerized.  When the cool, breathy vocals came in that was it – I had to know.  Who is THAT?

“That’s the Zombies,” replied my dad.

This song has such a strong cool, airy atmosphere about it that it’s unbelievable.  On hot summer days listening to this song cools me down.

Unfortunately it took me nearly twenty years to finally hear more of the Zombies beyond “Time of the Season” and “Tell Her No.”  Better late than never.

Leave a Reply

